Fantart

Fabiola's fantasy art

Learning new techniques: Lilac, the Glowing Fairy, watercolor

 

Lilac, the glowing fairy

Lilac, the glowing fairy

I used my first earnings as an illustrator to buy three illustrated books: one of them is about fairy and fantasy painting using watercolors. I’ve been using watercolors for several years, and I bought it to emprove my skills. The book has many interesting tutorials, but I don’t like copying other artist’s works: I prefer creating my own subjects, that’s why I am applying new techniques described in that book to my original drawings. This is the result of my first attempt with one of these techniques: quite unhappily, I forgot to take photos of the making process (as I usually do), that’s why I can only show you the final picture: for the next one, I promise I’ll remember to take a photo of each step. The picture I’ve called “Lilac, the Glowing Fairy”: it is about 16 x 23 cm, and I used only a few colors: two or three different kinds of yellow, violet and blue for the sparkling lights. Fab

7 comments on “Learning new techniques: Lilac, the Glowing Fairy, watercolor

  1. this is quite good. Have you ever thought about doing other mythical creatures, like fauns?

    • streamfairy
      May 9, 2013

      I’ve depicted goblings and elves, dragons and trolls, but never a faun… it could be interesting 🙂

      • Because I have faeries and fauns in my book I am always on the look out to see how illustrators draw them, because I like to see how others see faeries and fauns.

      • streamfairy
        May 9, 2013

        I’ll draw one and let you know…

  2. streamfairy
    May 9, 2013

    I’ll draw one and let you know…
    🙂

  3. Please let me know when you have drawn one. Or maybe I’ll see it on my feed since I am following you now.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2013 by in fairy, fantasy, watercolors and tagged , , , , , , , .
